White House taps inspectors general in campaign to cut waste

As promised, the Obama administration on Thursday launched its Government Accountability and Transparency board, naming a team consisting mostly of experienced inspectors general to "make spending data more reliable and accessible to the American people," according to a press release.

Vice President Biden on June 13 had announced the launch of the Campaign to Cut Government Waste, with himself in the same role of "Sherriff Joe" he played in 2009 when, under the Recovery Act, the administration formed the Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board.

"Cutting waste, fraud and abuse has been something Washington has talked about for decades, but now more than ever, what the American people need is action," Biden said. "That's why we are tapping the top leaders across government who have been most aggressive in cracking down on waste to drive change and make the government work for our nation's families. With our nation's top watchdogs at the helm, we will deliver the kind of transparency and accountability for federal spending that the public deserves and expects."

Specifically, the board will make recommendations to broaden government's use of new technology to crack down on fraud, and focus on integrating data systems and using data for better decision-making. The goal is to "offer a comprehensive vision for the management of federal spending that will fundamentally change how government works."

Members of the new board, which convened for the first time Thursday, include interim board leader Earl Devaney, chairman of the Recovery Accountability and Transparency Board; Ashton B. Carter, undersecretary of Defense for acquisition, technology and logistics; W. Scott Gould, deputy secretary of at the Veterans Affairs Department; Allison C. Lerner, inspector general of the National Science Foundation; Daniel R. Levinson, inspector general at the Health and Human Services Department; Ellen Murray, assistant HHS secretary for financial resources and chief financial officer; Calvin L. Scovel III, inspector general at the Transportation Department; Kathleen S. Tighe, inspector general at the Education Department; Controller Danny Werfel; David C. Williams, inspector general at the U.S Postal Service; and Deputy Treasury Secretary Neal S. Wolin.

Stay up-to-date with federal news alerts and analysis — Sign up for GovExec's email newsletters.
Close [ x ] More from GovExec