Dr. Anthony Fauci at the 2019 Government Hall of Fame gala at the Washington National Cathedral.

Dr. Anthony Fauci at the 2019 Government Hall of Fame gala at the Washington National Cathedral. KRISTOFFER TRIPPLAAR PHOTOGRAPHER

New Class of Government Hall of Fame Inductees To Be Honored

Series of virtual events will also recognize winners of annual Theodore Roosevelt Leadership Awards.

Last year, Government Executive Media Group launched the Government Hall of Fame and Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards to honor an annual all-star team of peak performers in various categories (the “Teddy” winners), and to give special lasting recognition to those who have made historic achievements in public service (the Hall of Famers).

The inaugural class of Hall of Fame inductees included not only Theodore Roosevelt himself and the Apollo 11 astronauts, but none other than Dr. Anthony Fauci, who was a shining star of public service long before the deadly coronavirus made him a household name. 

We celebrated the Teddy winners and the Hall of Fame inductees at a gala dinner at Washington National Cathedral. This year, there’s no safe space for galas. But that hasn’t stopped us from putting together a virtual celebration worthy of this year’s honorees. And it’s free.

In a series of events unfolding over two weeks, we’ll have special video segments with high-profile guests, interviews with and messages from winners, all presented within an immersive online experience. 

More information about the Theodore Roosevelt Government Leadership Awards and Government Hall of Fame

Register for the virtual awards gala

The Teddies will be awarded in five categories:

  • Visionaries: For those with a proven ability to generate new ideas and new approaches to addressing critical issues. 
  • Directors: For those who have earned the support and enthusiasm of their teams and leveraged it to achieve demonstrable results.
  • Pathfinders: For those who have brought the best information technology solutions available into the federal sphere.
  • Defenders: For those who have demonstrated sustained achievement in advancing the country’s security interests.
  • Partners: For significant, lasting achievements by government’s cross-sector partners.

In addition to these categories, we’ve added a special one this year honoring those who have made outstanding achievements in the COVID-19 response effort.

The Teddy winners will be unveiled in a series of events next week:

  • Oct. 6 at 11 a.m. ET: Directors and Partners 
  • Oct. 7 at 11 a.m. ET: Pathfinders and COVID-19 Response
  • Oct. 8 at 11 a.m. ET: Defenders and Visionaries

The Hall of Fame inductees, who are drawn from throughout the nation’s history, will be announced and celebrated over three days the following week:

  • Oct. 13 at 4 p.m. ET
  • Oct. 14 at 11 a.m. AM ET
  • Oct. 15 at 11 a.m. ET