Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

November 22, 2005

The Honorable Francis J. Harvey Secretary of the U.S. Army The Pentagon Washington, D.C. 20310

Dear Secretary Harvey,

We are writing to you to officially comment and express our strong concerns about the notice in the Federal Register on October 25, 2005, indicating that the Sexual Assault Data Management System Files would be added to the Army's existing records systems. While we applaud the Army's attempts to better understand the problem of sexual assault among its ranks, we are unclear why personal identifying information would be needed and are very concerned about the ramifications of gathering and storing this data. We believe that this system would violate the privacy rights of victims, as well as deter them from reporting crimes and seeking necessary treatment.

We have serious concerns about the implications for the confidentiality of victims of sexual assault, who all too frequently are fearful of reporting these crimes. For example, this system would store personal identifying information about alleged assailants and sexual assault survivors including names, Social Security numbers, birth dates, and medical information. These survivors, who have just endured a terrible and life-altering attack, should not then have to worry that their most personal and intimate information might be shared.

We also are concerned about the exemptions that would allow certain information to be excluded from the database. These exemptions may prevent an alleged assailant with a higher rank or security clearance from having his or her information related to the assault included in the database. Additionally, because administrative responses, such as letters of reprimand, are subject to Privacy Act protections, this information also may be excluded from the database.

As you know, the Defense Incident-Based Reporting System (DIBRS), once fully operational, will contain data on a wide array of crimes, including rape and sexual assault, without including personal identifying information. Through DIBRS, the Department of Defense (DoD) will have an aggregate accounting of the crimes that are occurring and what actions are being taken while maintaining the confidentiality of the victims. Additionally, DIBRS will report to the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) which is maintained by the Department of Justice.

Unfortunately, the implementation of DIBRS is long overdue. In 1988, Congress enacted the Uniform Federal Crime Reporting Act (P.L. 100-690) which required federal agencies and departments, including the DoD, to report crime data to the Justice Department. In 1996, the Under Secretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness issued Directive 7730.47, concerning the creation of DIBRS. However, seventeen years have passed since the passage of the Uniform

Federal Crime Reporting Act and DIBRS has yet to be completed.

Therefore, we strongly urge you to refrain from collecting and storing any personal identifying information or medical treatment records as part of this database and instead we urge you to focus on working with the Department of Defense to complete DIBRS so that the military will have a system of collecting crime statistics that will not violate basic privacy rights and allow our brave servicemen and women who survive a sexual assault to focus on getting the necessary treatment.

Sincerely,

Carolyn B. Maloney MEMBER OF CONGRESS	Louise M. Slaughter MEMBER OF CONGRESS
Stephen F. Lynch MEMBER OF CONGRESS	Carolyn McCarthy MEMBER OF CONGRESS
Barbara Lee MEMBER OF CONGRESS	Peter DeFazio MEMBER OF CONGRESS
Luis V. Gutierrez MEMBER OF CONGRESS	Tammy Baldwin MEMBER OF CONCRESS
Janice D. Schakowsky MEMBER OF CONGRESS	James P. McGovern MEMBER OF CONGRESS
Main R. Owens MEMBER OF CONGRESS	Betty McCollum MEMBER OF CONGRESS

Hartank Stark

Fortney Pete Stark
MEMBER OF CONGRESS

Bernard Sanders

MEMBER OF CONGRESS

Kush Holt

Rush D. Holt **MEMBER OF CONGRESS**

List of Signers:

The Honorable Carolyn B. Maloney

The Honorable Louise M. Slaughter

The Honorable Stephen F. Lynch

The Honorable Carolyn McCarthy

The Honorable Barbara Lee

The Honorable Peter DeFazio

The Honorable Luis V. Gutierrez

The Honorable Tammy Baldwin

The Honorable Janice D. Schakowsky

The Honorable James P. McGovern

The Honorable Major R. Owens

The Honorable Betty McCollum

The Honorable Fortney Pete Stark

The Honorable Bernard Sanders

The Honorable Rush D. Holt